Feb 25, 2016

“Weird Al” Yankovic The Mandatory World Tour 2016

THE MANDATORY WORLD TOUR

Durham, NC (February 23, 2016) – Following his wildly successful 2015 tour, four-time Grammy-winning artist “Weird Al” Yankovic has announced the continuation of his Mandatory World Tour in 2016.  Including a stop at DPAC on Friday, September 9, 2016.  Also announced was a flyaway contest where winning fans will choose an all-expense-paid trip to Los Angeles to see one of his two performances at the Hollywood Bowl or to New York City for his show at Radio City Music Hall.  Full routing listed below and complete contest info can be found at weirdal.com.

“We are happy to be hosting “Weird Al” Yankovic’s The Mandatory World Tour,” said Candice Terrell, Assistant Director of Marketing for Concerts and Comedy at DPAC.  “DPAC has a reputation for one of a kind experiences for fans and artists alike. Weird Al’s last performance was a blast, and this one will not disappoint.”

Tickets go on sale Friday, February 26 at 10a.m.:

  • Online at DPACnc.com
  • DPAC Ticket Center: 919.680.2787, 123 Vivian Street, Durham, NC
  • Ticketmaster.com / Ticketmaster Charge by phone at 800.745.3000

Friends of DPAC members may place their orders on February 25. Joining Friends of DPAC is free, and you can register at www.DPACnc.com/fod.

The 2015 tour took Weird Al and his long-time band to over 100 cities in the US, Canada, Europe and Australia.  This year’s tour (beginning June 3) will see Yankovic bringing his high-energy comedy rock show to an additional 79 cities across North America.

According to Al: “I’ve decided to do the Mandatory World Tour for one more year, after learning that some people didn’t make it out to the show this last time around.  Apparently, they don’t know the meaning of the word ‘mandatory’!!”

The tour follows Yankovic’s Grammy-winning Mandatory Fun, which was the first comedy album in over fifty years to hit #1 on the Billboard charts and the first comedy album in history to debut at the top spot.

In addition to this year’s tour, below are a few other recently-announced Yankovic projects:

  • Co-host and bandleader for the fifth season of Comedy Bang! Bang! on IFC, to begin airing this spring
  • Voice of the title character in Disney’s new animated fall series Milo Murphys Law (from the creators of Phineas and Ferb)
  • Executive Producer of a TV show based on his best-selling children’s books (being developed with the Jim Henson Company)
  • Star and creator of an on-air promotional campaign for Sundance TV (now airing)
  • A series of Weird Al retro-clothed action figures from NECA, to be released over the next two years beginning this spring
  • Recent appearances on the ABC hit series Galavant (as a singing monk) and The Goldbergs (as the ‘80s version of himself), as well as numerous voice-over roles including spots on Gravity Falls, Wander Over Yonder, Adventure Time, and the DC animated feature Batman vs. Robin
  • Live performances on George Fest: A Night to Celebrate the Music of George Harrison (to be released in all formats on Feb. 26)
  • A career-spanning box set from Legacy Recordings, featuring all 14 Weird Al studio albums digitally remastered in all formats

“Weird Al” Yankovic is the biggest-selling comedy recording artist in history, earning four Grammys and fifteen career nominations.  He is best known for his hilariously irreverent parodies of hit songs by the biggest stars in the musical universe over the past three decades, including “Eat It,” “Like A Surgeon,” “Smells Like Nirvana,” “Amish Paradise,”  “White & Nerdy,” and “Tacky." In 2015, Yankovic released his 14th studio album, the Grammy Award-winning Best Comedy Album Mandatory Fun making history as the first comedy album to debut at #1 on the Billboard Top 200 album chart and the first time a comedy album has reached the top of the chart in over 50 years.  The single “Word Crimes” debuted in the Billboard Top 40, making Al one of only three people to have had Top 40 singles in each of the last four decades (the other two are Michael Jackson and Madonna).  Yankovic has found success in multiple entertainment formats including the film world with his cult classic UHF, his CBS TV series The Weird Al Show, online with The Nerdist Channel with his faux celebrity interview web series Face 2 Face with Weird Al Yankovic, and the publishing world with Weird Al: The Book (an illustrated hardcover on Al’s life and career) and his children’s books, including the New York Times bestseller When I Grow Up.  Weird Al has performed more than 1500 dates over the course of his career and continues to direct videos and be an innovator in the entertainment community.

# ##

www.weirdal.com

Facebook:  weirdal

Twitter: @alyankovic I

Instagram: alfredyankovic

YouTube: alyankovic

THE  RETURN OF THE MANDATORY WORLD TOUR 2016

Friday, June 3  -  Saint Petersburg, FL  -  Mahaffey Theatre

Saturday, June 4  -  West Palm Beach, FL  -  Kravis Center for the Performing Arts - - Dreyfoos Hall

Sunday, June 5  -  Fort Myers, FL  -  Barbara B. Mann Performing Arts Center

Tuesday, June 7  -  Mobile, AL  -  Saenger Theatre

Thursday, June 9  -  Lakeland, FL  -  Youkey Theatre

Friday, June 10  -  Miami, FL  -  Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts

Saturday, June 11  -  Saint Augustine, FL  -  Saint Augustine Amphitheatre

Sunday, June 12  -  Birmingham, AL  -  BJCC Concert Hall

Wednesday, June 15  -  Louisville, KY  -  Iroquois Amphitheatre

Thursday, June 16  -  Nashville, TN  -  Grand Ole Opry House

Friday, June 17  -  Huntsville, AL  -  Von Braun Center

Saturday, June 18  -  Greensboro, NC  -  Greensboro Coliseum Complex - White Oak Amphitheater

Sunday, June 19  -  Atlanta, GA  -  Fox Theatre

Tuesday, June 21  -  Portsmouth, VA  -  NTELOS Pavilion at Harbor Center

Wednesday, June 22  -  Baltimore, MD  -  Hippodrome

Friday, June 24  -  Akron, OH  -  Akron Civic Theatre

Saturday, June 25  -  Bay City, MI  -  Veterans Memorial Park

Sunday, June 26  -  Fort Wayne, IN  -  Foellinger Theatre

Tuesday, June 28  -  Evansville, IN  -  Victory Theatre

Friday, July 1  -  Toledo, OH  -  Toledo Zoo Amphitheatre

Saturday,  July 2  -  Aurora, IL  -  RiverEdge Park

Sunday, July 3  -  Merrillville, IN  -  Star Plaza Theatre

Wednesday, July 6  -  Columbus, OH  -  Palace Theatre

Thursday, July 7  -  Indianapolis, IN  -  Farmer’s Bureau Insurance Lawn at White River State Park

Friday, July 8  -  Cincinnati, OH  -  PNC Pavilion at Riverbend

Saturday,  July 9  -  Chattanooga, TN  -  Tivoli Theatre

Sunday, July 10  -  Southaven, MS  -  Snowden Grove Amphitheatre

Tuesday, July 12  -  Austin, TX  -  Bass Concert Hall

Thursday, July 14  -  Houston, TX  -  Brown Theatre at Wortham Center

Friday, July 15  -  Biloxi, MS  -  Hard Rock Hotel & Casino – Hard Rock Live

Saturday, July 16  -  Dallas, TX  -  Winspear Opera House

Sunday, July 17  -  Enid, OK  -  Enid Event Center

Tuesday, July 19  -  El Paso, TX  -  Plaza Theatre Performing Arts Center

Thursday, July 21  -  San Diego, CA  -  Cal Coast Credit Union Open Air Theatre

Friday–Saturday, July 22–23  -  Los Angeles  -  Hollywood Bowl

Sunday, July 24  -  San Jose, CA  -  City National Civic

Tuesday–Wednesday  -  July 26–27  -  Woodland Park Zoo

Thursday, July 28  -  Troutdale, OR  -  Edgefield

Friday, July 29  -  Eugene, OR  -  Cuthbert Amphitheatre

Saturday, July 30  -  Rohnert Park, CA  -  Sonoma State University – Green Music Center

Tuesday, August 2  -  Santa Barbara, CA  -  Arlington Theatre

Wednesday, August 3  -  Phoenix, AZ  -  Comerica Theatre

Sunday, August 7  -  Kansas City, MO  -  Starlight Theatre

Tuesday, August 9  -  Cedar Rapids, IA  -  McGrath Amphitheatre

Wednesday, August 10  -  Lincoln, NE  -  Pinewood Bowl Amphitheatre

Saturday, August 13  -  Sturgis, SD  -  Buffalo Chip Campground

Sunday, August 14  -  Regina, SK  -  Conexus Arts Center

Monday, August 15  -  Winnipeg, MB  -  Burton Cummings Theatre for the Performing Arts

Thursday, August 18  -  Thunder Bay, ON  -  Thunder Bay Community Auditorium

Friday, August 19  -  Minneapolis, MN  -  State Theatre

Saturday, August 20  -  Appleton, WI  -  Fox Cities Performing Arts Center

Sunday, August 21  -  Madison, WI  -  Overture Hall

Tuesday, August 23  -  Rockford, IL  -  Coronado Theatre

Wednesday, August 24  -  Paducah, KY  -  Carson Center

Friday, August 26  -  Grand Rapids, MI  -  Devos Performance Hall

Saturday, August 27  -  Sterling Heights, MI  -  Freedom Hill Amphitheatre

Sunday, August 28  -  Huber Heights, OH  -  Rose Music Center at The Heights

Tuesday, August 30  -  Wilmington, DE  -  The Playhouse Theatre

Thursday, September 1  -  Lowell, MA  -  Boarding House Park

Friday, September 2  -  Gilford, NH  -  Bank of New Hampshire Pavilion

Saturday, September 3  -  Canandaigua, NY  -  Constellation Brands Marvin Sands Performing Arts Center

Sunday, September 4  -  Big Flats, NY  -  The Summer Stage at Tags

Wednesday, September 7  -  Columbia, SC  -  Koger Center for the Arts - U of SC 

Thursday, September 8  -  Wilmington, NC  -  Cape Fear Community College - Humanities and Fine Arts Center

Friday, September 9  -  Durham, NC  -  DPAC- Durham Performing Arts Center

Saturday, September 10  -  Ashville, NC  -  Thomas Wolfe Auditorium

Sunday, September 11  -  Vienna, VA  -  Filene Center at Wolf Trap

Tuesday, September 13  -  Hershey, PA  -  Hershey Theatre

Wednesday, September 14  -  Providence, RI  -  Providence Performing Arts Center

Friday, September 16  -  Pittsburgh, PA  -  Benedum Center for the Performing Arts

Saturday, September 17  -  Schenectady, NY  -  Proctor

Sunday, September 18  -  Waterbury, CT  -  Palace Theater 

Thursday, September 22  -  Charleston, WV  -  Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences

Friday, September 23  -  Atlantic City, NY  -  Caesar’s Atlantic City – Circus Maximus

Saturday, September 24  -  New York, NY  -  Radio City Music Hall