Tune In Alert

This Thu, July 15 at 7:30 PM

Tue, July 13

Tune In to See Students from The Triangle Compete in the National High School Musical Theatre Awards July 15th

The Broadway League and DPAC are pleased to announce that the 12th annual Jimmy Awards® ceremony will be presented online on Thursday, July 15, 2021.  Fans can watch the ceremony by going to JimmyAwards.com on July 15th beginning at 7:30 PM ET. 


The event, hosted by Corbin Bleu with a special appearance from Mandy Gonzalez, will remain available for online viewing for 72 hours ONLY, through Sunday, July 18th.  More details will be posted at JimmyAwards.com prior to the event.    


The Jimmy Awards® are presented by The Broadway League Foundation.  Apples and Oranges Arts is the livestream and video production partner.  The official media partner is WABC-TV.

The Triangle will be represented by 2021 Triangle Rising Stars Winners, Elena Holder of Durham School of the Arts and Joshua Messmore of St. David’s School. 


“Being in the Jimmy Awards® this year has been such an inspiring experience,” said Elena Holder, 2021 Triangle Rising Stars Best Actress.  “We have been able to work with and learn from industry professionals we have only dreamed of meeting before this week, and we know this experience will have a lasting impact on our futures in the performing arts.”


“The Jimmy Awards® have been an incredible culmination of everything we’ve been working toward the last few years,” said Joshua Messmore, 2021 Triangle Rising Stars Best Actor.  “Getting to experience the wisdom of our coaches and guest speakers, while also basking in the talent of our fellow nominees, has been eye-opening and truly transformative.”


For the 2021 Jimmy Awards®, all coaching, rehearsals, and activities took place online.  The program culminates with two talented students presented with the 2021 Best Performance by an Actress and Best Performance by an Actor awards, with a total of 20 awards and scholarships available to participants.  Winners will be selected by a panel of Broadway industry experts.


“We are thrilled that the Jimmy Awards® will once again celebrate talented high school performers, despite the challenges of this past year. For 2021, the Jimmy Awards® are going all-virtual, which gave us the chance to provide more opportunities for participation,” said Charlotte St. Martin, President of the Broadway League. “Fans from every state in the US and every corner of the globe we will have the chance to cheer on all the talented nominees, see amazing performances, and be part of this wonderful celebration of arts education.”


“It has been such a joy to spend time with Elena and Joshua this year as they prepared for their virtual Jimmy Awards® experience,” said Megan Rindoks, Community Engagement Manager at DPAC.  “They are both incredibly kind and talented, and I cannot wait to see them shine in the virtual ceremony on July 15th.  


Additionally, the INSPIRING TEACHER AWARD will be presented by WELLS FARGO to Katelin Ruzzamenti Knight, Salt Lake School for the Performing Arts, Salt Lake City, Utah and Benjamin Pesenti, Elmont Memorial High School, Elmont, NY. These teachers will be honored for the encouragement and inspiration that led their students to win the coveted Jimmy Award for Best Performance by an Actress and Best Performance by an Actor at the most recent past Jimmy Awards ceremony, in 2019.


The 2021 Jimmy Awards® will involve 72 nominees from 36 participating regional programs around the US. Student performers qualify to compete in the national program by winning top honors at regional high school musical theatre awards competitions presented by Broadway League-member performing arts centers. Each year, more than 100,000 students participate in these events.


Founded in 2009 by Nederlander Alliances LLC, Pittsburgh CLO, and Broadway Education Alliance, the mission of the Jimmy Awards® / National High School Musical Theatre Awards® is to raise the profile of musical theatre in schools, recognize dedicated teachers, and inspire the next generation of performers and enthusiasts. The program has been the catalyst for more than $4,000,000 in educational scholarships to date, and many past student participants have appeared in leading or supporting roles in Broadway, Touring and West End productions.  


The Jimmy Awards® are presented by the Broadway League Foundation in honor of legendary Broadway producer/theatre owner James M. Nederlander, and are supported by many leading theatre industry organizations. To get more information about the Jimmy Awards/National High School Musical Theatre Awards program, or to make a tax-deductible donation to support the program, visit JimmyAwards.com.


The Broadway League Foundation acts as the philanthropic arm of the Broadway League. Part of the Foundation’s mission is to enlighten and increase the public's knowledge, appreciation, and awareness of the theatrical arts. Since its founding in 1993, it has supported projects to help preserve Broadway's heritage and introduce new audiences to Broadway theatre. The Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization.

# # #